Math Textbook Adoption Begins

Prince William County Schools (PWCS) will begin math textbook adoption soon, as will every other school district in Virginia.

On May 18 2011 the VA Board of Education will be presented with the draft list of state recommended math textbooks. Those textbooks are:

ELEMENTARY SCHOOL

Recommended for Kindergarten through 5th Grade

  • Math Expressions, by Holt / Houghton Mifflin Publishing
  • enVisionMATH, by Pearson / Scott Foresman Publishing (also recommended for 6th grade)
  • Virginia Math Connects, by The McGraw Hill Companies

Recommended for selected Grades

  • Virginia Everyday Mathematics, by The McGraw Hill Companies (recommended for grades 1, 2, 3, 5 & 6)

MIDDLE SCHOOL

Recommended for Grades 6, 7, & 8

  • Big Ideas Math, Green, Red & Blue, by Big Ideas / Holt / Houghton Mifflin Publishing
  • Holt McDougall Mathematics Course 1, 2 & 3, by Holt / Houghton Mifflin Publishing (2012 copyright – Larson)
  • Prentice Hall Mathematics Course 1, 2, & 3, by Pearson Publishing
  • Math Connects Course 1, 2, & 3, by McGraw Hill Education

Recommended for Pre-Algebra

  • Bridge to Algebra, Carnegie Learning
  • Bridges to Algebra and Geometry, by CORD Communicaitons
  • McDougall Littell Pre-Algebra, by Holt / Houghton Mifflin Publishing
  • McGraw Hill Pre-Algebra, by McGraw Hill Education

HIGH SCHOOL

Recommended for Algebra I, Geometry, & Algebra II

  • Holt McDougall Algebra I, Geometry, & Algebra II Burger Series, by Holt / Houghton Mifflin Publishing
  • Holt McDougall Algebra I, Geometry, & Algebra II Larson Series, by Holt / Houghton Mifflin Publishing *
  • McGraw Hill Algebra I, Geometry, & Algebra II, by McGraw Hill Education **
  • Prentice Hall Algebra I, Geometry, & Algebra II, by by Pearson Publishing  **

* This series also offers materials for Calculus, AP Calculus, Statistics, and AP Statistics

** This publisher also offers materials for Calculus, AP Calculus, Statistics, and AP Statistics, but not necessarily within the same series as Algebra I, Geometry, and Algebra II.

Recommended for Algebra I & Geometry

  • Discovering Algebra & Discovering Geometry, by Key Curriculum Press
  • Holt McDougall Algebra I & Geometry Concepts & Skills Series, by Holt / Houghton Mifflin Publishing

Recommended just for Geometry

  • Geometry, CORD Communications

Recommended for Geometry & Algebra II

  • Geometry & Algebra II, by Carnegie Learning

Recommended for Algebra, Functions, and Data Analysis

  • Prentice Hall Algebra, Functions, and Data Analysis, by Pearson Publishing
One Response to “Math Textbook Adoption Begins”

  1. Shannon Chavez Says:

    I attend Bryant and Stratton college, one of my classes happens to be pre-algebra and the text book I had to buy for the course thru their bookstore (of course) was the 3rd edition Prealgebra Media Enhanced Edition Baratto/ Bergman. Published by McGraw-*Hill. There is a serious problem with the book. It has no fold out portion which is suppose to cantain the access code to Mathzone. I called the bookstore at my school where I bought the overpriced book, they claim I need to get a hold of the publisher. The number I was given is no longer in service since that was a dead end I decided to try this. There is no e-mail in the book to get a hold of the publisher directly, so I am hoping beyond hope you can help me or at least give me some information I can follow up on that will help. Thank you, Shannon Chavez


Leave a Reply

